Headed Nowhere Fast?

Stop following someone else’s map.

Have your cake and eat it too. Part 2

cake and boy

The father of American psychology, William James, said there were three rules for changing your life:

  1. Start immediately.
  2. Do it flamboyantly.
  3. No exceptions.

I couldn’t agree more when it comes to having your cake and eating it too. If you want a life that revolves around your authentic self and you are ready to make the leap, then the best way to be ready is to simply start moving. You don’t have to have all your ducks in a row to get started. You know enough to begin to move and you will learn everything else that you need as you go along.

All the reasons you could come up with for not moving are based in fear and you were not created to live your life ruled by fear. I will admit that feeling fear is normal and probably even healthy, but it is not healthy when it stops you from moving forward.

When I was a child I was afraid of the dark. I had large fears about what might creep around in the dark and live in my closet. I can remember being so scared that I laid in bed paralyzed. I couldn’t move my arms or legs. Now, there was nothing in my room, but even if there had been I couldn’t have done anything about because of my fear. I allowed my fear to be in control. Feeling fear is fine, but letting it guide you will keep you stuck in a miserable and inauthentic life.

Stop waiting for your fears to go away and die. Go after them and kill them. The KEY is to start moving and push through the initial emotions. Stop telling yourself that you need more time or more planning. Trust your authentic self and begin.

1 Comment»

  growlbert wrote @

Again with the awesome symbolic metaphors!
This is so true! I can’t tell you how many times I have stayed in the same place for fear of moving forward. I do exactly what you were talking about – I tell myself that I need more time and planning. I’m always afraid that if I act too soon things won’t be perfect. The problem is that no matter how much planning I do I never feel prepared enough and this prevents me from acting. I end up standing in place or chasing my tail, never really getting anywhere. I’m afraid to make a move in any direction for fear that I will be doing the wrong thing, but I think – like you said – the key is to just get up and go! Like Nike says, JUST DO IT!!
http://growlbert.wordpress.com/


Leave a Reply

